Vanessa Diep
Vanessa Diep
Question Answer
Tell us about your sporting background and how you first got into triathlons I am not a natural when it comes to sports but with hard work, it has got me to where I am today. I began swimming lessons at 5, reached squad when I was 12 years old and stopped at 14. I started tennis when I was 12 to 15 years old, and that was when I realised how uncoordinated I was. I also took up Vovinam and taekwondo when I was 14 to 19 years old. The first time I was interested in cycling was when I participated in the great Victorian bike ride with my school, at the age of 14. It was the hardest and most painful ride I had ever done. I remembered riding in the pouring rain, and everything was drenched, even my undies, with my snoopy back pack, riding up the hills with a very sore back because my mountain bike was too big for me. That memory is still vivid as it reminded me of how far I have come. After that event I continued to ride seasonally and I have completed 3 GVBRs. I’ve always had a passion for middle distance running as I was involved in school cross country every year as well as joining the Waverley athletics club for a year at 15.

I don’t know how I got into triathlons. It just happened so quickly I don’t even know how it started. I guess I wanted to be committed and to be good at something that I really enjoyed.
Your favourite TRI discipline? I haven’t been doing triathlons long enough to discover which is my favourite as well as what are my strongest or weakest disciplines yet. But for now all I have to say is that I look forward to the club trainings.
Goal race for the 2016/17 season? My aim is to get into the 2017 world championship sprint team. Not sure if I’m setting an unrealistic goal here but I am going to give it a crack anyway.
Favourite holiday destination and why Honestly, haven’t been to many places but if I was going to choose it would be somewhere that’s got to be warm and have forest landscapes, where we can hike and go mountain biking or anything that involves outdoor activities
If you could have a super power for a day what would it be? Teleporting so I can explore the whole world in one day!
In a snapshot of a few sentences, what else keeps you busy outside of triathlons? Outside of this triathlon realm, I am currently a full-timer, third year podiatry student completing a master’s degree at La Trobe University. I also work part time at Athlete’s Foot southland if anyone wants to visit me, ha-ha.
What do you love about being a member of NunaTriClub? I love the culture of this club. We are light hearted and down to earth. We can say mean jokes, be brutally honest, and just laugh it off. Everyone is also very supportive. The coaches and members offer good advice, when it comes to technique and their personal experience. I think I’ve learnt more from the club than my time at Uni.

2XU Top Gear PRO4MANCE
PhysioHealth hockingstuart Wheelscience
Active Feet Aqua Shop